My road to the third place at the Grand Prix in Copper, my ticket to Sochi!

This year I went once again to America to snowboard in December. I could travel with the Swiss snowboard team. Some friends of mine and I did a three day stopover in New York. We had a blast checking out the big city. I also liked the one day trip to Brooklyn a lot. Shopping in vintage shops, walking around the streets chilling in coffees and rooftop bars, drawing my friends in a restaurant.

After those days in NY we went on to Colorado. It was nice to be back there again. We spent three good weeks snowboarding and training.

Check out this small video of a training session in Woodward where we went training indoor on a bad weather day:

During the last days of our stay in America we took part at the Grand Prix in Copper, a Freestyle World Cup. My goal was to get there a top-10 result to approve my spot for taking part in Sochi. 
I was really happy that I landed my second run in the qualification and that I made it together with my team mate Isabel Derungs to the finals. 
Just one day before our travel home we could start in the finals. It was a bit windy first, but the weather cleared up so it was fun to ride. I landed my first run and then also my second run with a backflip, a fs 360° and a bs 540° over the jumps. It was really nice that I ended up in the third place. This was my first podium on a World Cup. Isa also did well and got second.

Read more in German here: www.blick.ch/sport

The next day we took the flight home to Switzerland. I arrived at Christmas evening home to Vnà, where my parents live. It was a big surprise for me, that the people of my hometown had organized a small party to celebrate my qualification to Sochi. Even the radio was there to make a live interview with me. Although I was a bit shocked in the beginning it was awesome to meet everyone and to celebrate!!!

 

Leave a Reply

